November 26

Early Release Service Project

Hello Parents!

Something that is near and dear to my heart is service work. I believe that our communities and society benefit when people of all generations work to help each other out.

This is the first big service project that I have done with a class.  Mrs. Deter’s class is doing this as well and I love the idea of serving and giving back.

Blankets for a local nursing home

On our last Early Release before Holiday Break, December 13, I would like to transform our classroom into a team of community helpers.

I would like to have students work in small groups to create no-sew tie fleece blankets and holiday cards to donate to the residents.

How can you help make this happen?

  • Donate Blanket Materials!
    • 5′ x 4.5′ cuts of fleece from any fabric store
    • Monetary donations that I will use to purchase fleece.  I have a Venmo account (@Karman-Houtstra) if that is easiest for you.  I will also take cash donations.
    • Invite friends and family to make monetary or 5′ x 4.5′ fleece donations
  • Donate Card Making Materials!
    • Fun cardstock
    • Stickers
    • Stamps/ink pads
  • Come distribute them with me!
    • The date of delivery is TBA.  I will let you know as soon as possible.
    • Bring your student and/or family along to hand out cards, blankets, hugs, and smiles to warm our community members’ holiday season!

Tags: , ,

Posted November 26, 2019 by Karman Houtstra in category Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*